March 17, 2012.

The official launch date of my newest novel, The Voynich Cypher.

An exciting book for me, as it represents a departure from my customary conspiracy thriller fare. Most of my novels are cast in the tradition of Robert Ludlum and Frederick Forsyth. But not Voynich. This is a completely different kind of thriller.

_____________________

AN EVEN NEWER BREAKING NEWS: A fun interview on process with Emerald Barnes.

NEW BREAKING NEWS! A fabulous interview with The Indie View on Voynich, writing, process & life.

BREAKING NEWS!  Great interview with bestselling award-winning author Melissa Foster on writing The Voynich Cypher, clowns, Satan and nude ice dancing.

UPDATE: New interview with Amber Norrgard. One of my favorites yet, with an awesome poet/author/friend.

NEWSFLASH: Book review of The Voynich Cypher by bestselling author Steven Konkoly. This is a must read.

NEWS: Guest blog wherein I discuss the writing of The Voynich Cypher and the big idea behind it at The Veil War blog.

BOOK REVIEW: A great book review of The Voynich Cypher by Books N Beans.

ANOTHER BOOK REVIEW: This time from Kate’s Reads. Nice!

_____________________

The Voynich Cypher is an unusual kind of a book for me to pen. A pure adventure thriller in the mold of The Da Vinci Code, Foucault’s Pendulum and Raiders of the Lost Ark. Featuring the protagonist from Zero Sum, my Wall Street thriller – Dr. Steven Archer Cross.

It’s a race of a read, 100K words, and no fat or fluff. Just relentless story. And quite a story it is.

For more detail on what I was trying to accomplish or how I went about writing this one, read some of the above interviews and blogs. No point in belaboring them here. What I will say is that the end result surpassed even my most wild hopes, and is some of my best work to date. Suffice it to say I’m proud as hell of this book, and believe it will be the one that breaks it wide open.

It will be specially priced from its selling price of $5.97 for the launch, slashed to $3.33, and that pricing could end at any moment – I’m deeply discounting it so that it gets as many early readers as possible. So go buy it. Buy two, and give one to your dog or cat.

The synopsis pretty much covers what you can expect out of the book: When a sacred relic is stolen from its subterranean guarded vault, Dr. Steven Cross, amateur cryptographer, becomes embroiled in a deadly quest to decipher one of history’s most enigmatic documents – a 15th century parchment written entirely in unbreakable code; The Voynich Manuscript. Stalked by secret societies, and aided by the daughter of a murdered colleague, a trail of riddles catapults Cross from England to Italy to the Middle East, where a Byzantine web of ancient secrets leads him to a revelation so profound it will change the world order.

Here’s the cover. Let me know what you think

Buy The Voynich Cypher at Amazon.

Share

Comments

  1. yoon
    Sat 17th Mar 2012 at 12:00 pm

    So this is the big day I should have waited to buy the book at discounted price, huh. Where’s the party at?

    Reply
    • Russell Blake  –  Sat 17th Mar 2012 at 12:26 pm

      As a consolation, I shall send you 10 full minute of long distance Reiki healing. No need to thank me. I continue to promote harmony and tolerance.

      There’s no party like a St. Paddy’s day party in Meheeco. Trust me on that. I’ll knock back enough for us both – an irishman in Mexico on St. Paddy’s during Spring Break is nothing to be trifled with.

      Reply
  2. yoon
    Sat 17th Mar 2012 at 9:27 pm

    I’m so disappointed in you. I thought you are a decent man making honest living as a nude ice dancer slash a male pole dancer slash a government contract killer. I had no idea you are involved in fraudulent activities such as Reiki. So sad…

    Reply
    • Russell Blake  –  Sun 18th Mar 2012 at 2:38 am

      We do what we must to survive. Sorry to disappoint you, as I have all the women in my life…

      Reply
  3. Napoleon
    Tue 20th Mar 2012 at 2:35 pm

    Another Great book.

    Nice cover as well. Makes me nostalgic.
    Would have liked to have seen maybe a little crease at the top and a coffee stain.
    Maybe for borrowers there could a worrying blood stain somewhere as well to recreate a library book?

    I hope I’m not giving away any spoilers but I was disappointed that only half the book dealt with Baltic hooker clowns.

    I am somewhat envious of your work rate.

    Reply
    • Russell Blake  –  Tue 20th Mar 2012 at 2:42 pm

      I promise that the next book will be filled with and fixated upon Baltic clown prostitutes. Early, often, and in between.

      Glad you enjoyed it. If you’d be kind enough to post a review on Amazon US, I’d be in your debt, as well as on Goodreads.

      I think the trick to the work rate is liberal plagiarism, simply writing the same book over and over, and tequila and chemical fortification. Works for me.

      Reply
  4. Fri 23rd Mar 2012 at 12:43 am

    Congratulations on the new one!
    You’ve got a good system going to be able to turn great books out so regualrly.
    Something in the air.

    Reply
  5. Fri 23rd Mar 2012 at 12:37 pm

    I can’t wait to read it. Guns and Rosaries. I’m thinking about music scores for your next movie(s).
    Congrats to you!

    Make some dough and get back in the cave carving out ice sculptures and slaying clowns.
    BTW Amber’s interview is lovely.
    Will RT the new book party when I have time ( time? who needs sleep?)
    hugs 00000

    Reply
    • Russell Blake  –  Fri 23rd Mar 2012 at 2:01 pm

      Thanks Caroline. It’s getting good feedback, and I hope to be able to post an update on my sales figures Sat or Sun. I think they’ll cause some eyebrows to raise, and should act as encouragement for other indie authors who are wondering if it can or can’t be done.

      Reply
  6. Joachim Dathe
    Fri 08th Jun 2012 at 12:51 pm

    Sorry for stopping speculations:
    I solved the “Voynich mystery”, it is simply a transliteration of Arabic text.
    All about that you can find in:
    http://goo.gl/zFeKD

    The “Voynich experts”, for long years, are not amused :)

    Reply

Add comment

Copyright © Russell Blake 2010-2014 All Rights Reserved
Powered by WordPress

Join Russell Blake's Mailing List

  • Get Latest Releases
  • No Spam
  • Exclusive Offers

The best way to get the latest updates from Russell Blake