15 July 2014 by Published in: Uncategorized 11 comments

My new pseudonym, R.E. Blake, is now live, in preparation for the first in a string of NA/YA and CR novels. You can view RE’s new blog here, or check out and like the Facebook page, which I would appreciate. Friend it, too, while you’re at it.

I’ve been too busy to do Twitter, but that too shall come.

The first R.E. Blake novels will release in October, and are more in the tradition of Twilight and The Fault In Our Stars than my usual fare, hence my creation of a new brand. I don’t want Russell Blake readers to inadvertently pick up an R.E. Blake novel expecting car chases and gunfights, just as I don’t want R.E. Blake readers to pick up JET or BLACK expecting a poignant NA romance.

This is an example of me walking my talk. I’ve long maintained that the author name is a brand, and that you want to make it painfully easy for readers to understand what they’re getting when they see your brand.

Russell Blake novels are breakneck-paced adrenaline rushes in the action/thriller genre, R.E. Blake…aren’t.

Which isn’t to say that some Russell Blake readers won’t be interested in R.E. Blake’s work. Early beta readers have said that the first R.E. Blake novel, Less Than Nothing, is a blockbuster YA/NA novel that manages to combine the romantic coming-of-age saga of two teen runaways with a classic road novel like Huckleberry Finn, which makes for a unique mashup that’s unlike anything I’ve ever read. I probably should have thrown in a fight for survival in a dystopian future, but hey, hindsight…

But many won’t be interested in that new and completely different genre. Which is as it should be. This way they won’t inadvertently pick up the wrong author’s work and be disappointed.

In other news, I’m delighted to announce that I’m hard at work on a second Fargo novel with Clive Cussler, and this one, like my first co-authored novel with the “Grand Master of Adventure,” is going to be a hell of a yarn. That debut effort, The Eye Of Heaven, releases Sept. 2, so we don’t have much longer to go before we see how his fans like our new offering.

That’s all I have for now. Hope you’re enjoying  your summer. I know I am.

Share

Comments

  1. Tue 15th Jul 2014 at 5:07 pm

    Can’t wait for these books to go live. I will be picking copies up as we are now charter parents #15,498 for a Little Free Library, http://www.littlefreelibrary.org, and I want to stock the box with the best books!

    Reply
  2. Tue 15th Jul 2014 at 7:24 pm

    I think a lot of your mystery/thriller readers who aren’t into romance will check it out just to see what you’ve come up with, and then they’ll be hooked and will snap up book two and three in the series. That’s my psychic prediction at least.

    Reply
    • Russell Blake  –  Wed 16th Jul 2014 at 10:20 am

      Here’s to hoping you’re right!

      Reply
  3. Wed 16th Jul 2014 at 8:29 am

    Hello, Blake,

    So now you’re expanding to R.E.Blake.
    Many will ask: Y?

    R.U. Serious? U.C.Ahead, Blake, and F.U.Wanna do it, well good luck. Become another legal N.T.T. if you think it will work.

    You know who’s going to love reading your chick novels? My X.

    And as for me? I.P. Daley.
    U. Got a problem with that?

    Reply
    • Russell Blake  –  Wed 16th Jul 2014 at 10:19 am

      LOL. OMG, STFU. LMFAO!!!

      Reply
      • Kim Cano  –  Wed 16th Jul 2014 at 2:40 pm

        God. You two are hysterical. It would be even better if we were all drinking when that conversation occurred.

        I’ll bet Larry will be the first one reading Less Than Nothing. Secretly.

        Reply
  4. Wed 16th Jul 2014 at 9:35 am

    Oh crap. I was supposed to go with initials for my YA books? I thought I’d just use a female pen name. Like Ronny Estrada. Then I could wear yoga pants (so unfair). Actually, I’ll probably prefer your YA stuff. I think I od’d on action\thrillers as a younger man. I need to slow down. Read long introspective passages that compare a young man’s love interest to day old bread. Oh, and you’ll need zombies or friendly vampires (who occasionally forget that they’re friendly and rip out their day-old-bread girlfriend’s throat). Put me down for a copy. Loved Huck and Tom. Are we pirate hunting?

    Reply
    • Russell Blake  –  Wed 16th Jul 2014 at 10:19 am

      There be monsters.

      And Ron, you go ahead with those Yoga pants. Or Yoda pants. It’s all good. I won’t judge.

      Reply
  5. Ken
    Thu 17th Jul 2014 at 7:56 am

    You’re missing a good marketing opportunity here. What you need to do is have the paper version of your book available with an alternate cover–maybe something similar to the Assassin series. Macho guy with guns or some such. That way, guys can read it in public and not worry about getting busted reading romance. Voila! Increased reading and sales.

    (Only half kidding here. Think JK Rowling’s publisher did something similar at one point with the HP books for adults who didn’t want to get spotted reading a children’s book).

    Reply
  6. Maya
    Thu 07th Aug 2014 at 8:53 pm

    I’m probably going to check out the results of your new adventure but I’m so addicted to your break-neck paced gun-blazing high-speed thrills that it makes me kind of angry that your time will now be divided between the two genres…

    Reply
  7. tim
    Sun 10th Aug 2014 at 7:44 pm

    more black please

    Reply

Add comment

Copyright © Russell Blake 2010-2014 All Rights Reserved
Powered by WordPress

Join Russell Blake's Mailing List

  • Get Latest Releases
  • No Spam
  • Exclusive Offers

The best way to get the latest updates from Russell Blake