10 September 2013 by Published in: Black 25 comments

The day I’ve been waiting for is finally here. My new series launches today with BLACK. I’ve got BLACK 2 being edited, and BLACK 3 in the queue. I’m targeting BLACK 2 for mid-October release, and BLACK 3 for mid-November, with December being a BLACK-fest with BLACK 4 hitting by Xmas, as well as the sixth installment in the JET series.

BLACK is a new kind of book for me. It’s funny. Humor plays a big part in Artemus Black’s interactions with the world, and much of the humor is dark. I really like the characters in this series the more I write them. Black is a fun protagonist, and Roxie, his assistant, is a hoot. Mugsy, the morbidly obese cat, Dr. Kelso, his therapist (who has anger management and sexual hangup issues of his own), Gracie, his alcoholic landlady, Stan, his bitter LAPD buddy…

They came alive on the page for me, which is what you dream of when you’re writing. Sometimes you have to prod the characters into reluctant animation, and sometimes they arrive on the scene fully formed, bursting from the page. This is one of those times.

For those of you expecting my usual breakneck-paced action adventure, this will be a slight departure. It’s a detective mystery, not a chase book. There’s still plenty of action, but this keeps to the genre, and is more cerebral, more focused on the twists and turns and plotting, and of course, the characters.

I’m really excited about this series. In the tradition of Michael Connelly, Elmore Leonard and Raymond Chandler.

Even the cover has me doing a happy dance. I actually had a photo shoot done to get a bunch of covers just for this series. They nailed it.

Now go buy it or clowns will eat your brain while you sleep. I’m so not kidding about that. Why risk it? Act now. You’ve been warned.

 

black-k

 

Share

Comments

  1. Tue 10th Sep 2013 at 8:13 am

    Congratulations, Russell. Well done! You continue to be a source of literary/publishing inspiration. I’ve been looking forward to BLACK since you first mentioned it several months ago. I’m certain it won’t suck.

    Reply
    • Russell Blake  –  Tue 10th Sep 2013 at 10:18 am

      Thanks Ryan. Here’s to hoping it doesn’t!

      Reply
  2. Tue 10th Sep 2013 at 8:31 am

    Got a copy and am already reading. My favorite characters so far are Black’s parents! 🙂

    Reply
    • Russell Blake  –  Tue 10th Sep 2013 at 10:19 am

      They recur through all the books, so that’s probably a good thing…

      Reply
  3. Terry Parrish
    Tue 10th Sep 2013 at 11:00 am

    Damnit Russell, you need to slow down so I can catch up with all your other books! LOL. Congrats on the new series, and I will be reading them.

    Reply
  4. Tue 10th Sep 2013 at 11:31 am

    My mom just emailed me to say she is buying BLACK for the hot guy on the cover. She doesn’t care what it’s actually about!

    Reply
  5. Don Godin
    Tue 10th Sep 2013 at 2:39 pm

    I concur with Mr. Parrish, re slowing down. I can’t leave Cruz and Diana in limbo while switching to Black, so it’s on hold till I finish the Avenger series. Most certainly looking forward to it, and love the cover. Shades of Sam Spade and other PIs of the 50’s.

    Reply
  6. Tue 10th Sep 2013 at 5:45 pm

    Very best of luck with the new series, it sounds like it was a laugh to write as well as to read. I find I get to grips with the characters better and have much more fun with them when writing humour.

    Reply
    • Russell Blake  –  Tue 10th Sep 2013 at 10:24 pm

      Thanks David. Yup. I was laughing out loud in places. I think readers will easily be able to guess which those were.

      Reply
  7. Brian Holt
    Tue 10th Sep 2013 at 7:00 pm

    Well.. you know what THAT means… I need to plan another Caribbean vacation so I can sit on the beach and read for a week.. Still catching up with all your others.. you are an amazing writer….. thanks for the entertainment !

    Reply
    • Russell Blake  –  Tue 10th Sep 2013 at 10:23 pm

      You’re welcome. Glad you’re enjoying the work. I think you’ll find that BLACK breaks a lot of molds.

      I hear Anguilla is nice in the fall…

      Reply
  8. Tue 10th Sep 2013 at 7:42 pm

    So far, so good!! I’m finishing up Sue Grafton’s Alphabet series (I’m on T, so almost complete). After reading the first couple of chapters of Black, I think Kinsey and Artemus would get along swimmingly, although by now she’d probably be retired!

    Reply
    • Russell Blake  –  Tue 10th Sep 2013 at 10:22 pm

      There’s a pairing from hell…

      Reply
  9. yoon
    Tue 10th Sep 2013 at 8:49 pm

    I’m convinced you spent some time in a prison and had a torrid love affair with a prison mate. And probably that’s when you got your tramp stamp.

    Reply
    • Russell Blake  –  Tue 10th Sep 2013 at 10:22 pm

      Those prison marriages never last. Sniff.

      Reply
  10. Wed 11th Sep 2013 at 5:41 pm

    RB-
    Just grabbed my copy of BLACK. Love the cover. Look forward to reading it. Glad to see you popping out a whole series.
    Best of luck.
    W4$

    Reply
    • Russell Blake  –  Wed 11th Sep 2013 at 7:46 pm

      Gracias. Yeah, I got the bug on this one. A hoot to write. Most fun I’ve had in a while.

      Reply
  11. Fri 13th Sep 2013 at 4:52 pm

    Russell,
    While your genre is not necessarily one which I prefer (I know, blah, blah), I think the cover of BLACK is outstanding. So is your energy and deserved success.

    But I do drop by routinely to check out your Pet Wall (and then read your irreverent blogs articles). I was furious that your sweet “Angel with Fur” was shelved ignobly by the GR trolls…just as my Pasha–including my other writing–was. So, I wished the pox on them. Our furry friends surely did not deserve that.

    Aside from the unbidden trolls, congratulations on your continued success.

    Reply
    • Russell Blake  –  Fri 13th Sep 2013 at 11:37 pm

      Thanks, Inge. I didn’t even notice that they’ve shelved Angel. I’m not even sure I know what that means. People still buy and love the book, and after about 10K units sold, I’d like to think it’s done as well as most pet tomes. I still miss him very much. And yes, the trolls can suck it.

      Thanks again for the warm sentiments. I’ll keep on keeping on as long as people want to read it.

      Reply
  12. Trish
    Sat 14th Sep 2013 at 12:48 pm

    Have read ALL your books ,was eagerly waiting for this series ~~~~ AND , I LOVE Black !
    Read it in one day , now waiting for next installment .
    I can’t always afford to buy kindle books (am on SS ) , but I budget for yours 🙂
    Keep writing , I’ll keep reading !!!!!!!

    Reply
    • Russell Blake  –  Sat 14th Sep 2013 at 4:29 pm

      Glad you liked it, Trish. BLACK 2 should be out in mid-Oct. Leave a review if you’re so inclined. They all add up…

      Reply
  13. Tom Heimerman
    Sat 19th Jul 2014 at 12:03 pm

    So… willst there be a fifth installment in the Black series? I can’t go much longer without more fashion tips.

    Reply
    • Russell Blake  –  Sat 19th Jul 2014 at 12:34 pm

      Top of next year!

      Reply
      • Tom Heimerman  –  Sat 19th Jul 2014 at 12:41 pm

        Well, okay then… I suppose you’ve got other Very Busy and Important obligations between now and then. I shall wait another half year for Black 5. Ta ta!

        Reply

Add comment

Copyright © Russell Blake 2010-2014 All Rights Reserved
Powered by WordPress

Join Russell Blake's Mailing List

  • Get Latest Releases
  • No Spam
  • Exclusive Offers

The best way to get the latest updates from Russell Blake